KS4 Curriculum

In Key Stage 4 (Year 9, 10 and 11) all students follow a core curriculum of:

option choices, one from each block (Option Choice block for 2017):

At Eltham Hill we strongly recommend that students choose a broad range of options.

Universities and employers are interested in seeing that there has been a broad-based education at this stage of a student’s development. Options are to prove to colleges and employers that students are able to work at a particular level and can manage learning and training.

Students should remember:

  • You are choosing subjects and not a career.
  • You are choosing subjects, not a teacher.
  • You are choosing subjects for you, not for a friend.

What are GCSEs, BTECs, and EBACC?

GCSEs: (General Certificate of Secondary Education)

These are the standard qualification taken by all 16-year-olds in the country. GCSEs are suitable for all abilities and are tested through examination and coursework. The grades awarded for GCSEs will be 1 – 9 for all GCSEs in 2018. 1 will be the lowest grading and 9 the highest. The Government have stated that 4 is the equivalent of a C grade.

Click for further information about changes to the grades 

Information relating to new Grading (9-1)

BTECs: (Business and Technical Education Council)

These are applied learning courses/work related qualifications that are available in a range of subjects. BTECs can be offered at 3 different levels. Level 2 is offered at this key stage at EHS. BTECs consist of coursework-based assignments, which are assessed by teachers in school. Under the new guidelines, at least 40% of the course will be externally assessed by exam. The tariff for BTECS has been reduced and they will now count for one GCSE each in a student’s score for Attainment and Progress 8. They are not grounding for ‘A’ level but are highly recommended for students wanting to pursue BTEC level 3 (equivalent to two A Levels).

EBaac: (English Baccalaureate)

The EBacc is awarded to students who score at least C grades in English, maths, two Sciences, history or geography and a modern foreign language at GCSE. There is no extra study or work to do outside of these GCSEs. The advantage of choosing to complete the courses leading to the EBaac is that it ensures students have followed a broad and balanced curriculum and will have a wide range of options available to them at Post 16.


Year 8 – GCSE Options Booklet (2017)

Year 9 – Welcome to KS4 Booklet